ESPN Network: | |  ABCSports |  EXPN |  INSIDER  |  FANTASY


Keyword: ABC Sports 

Super Bowl MVP headlines 52nd Pro Bowl

Super Bowl XXXVI MVP Tom Brady of the New England Patriots and NFL MVP Kurt Warner of the St. Louis Rams lead their respective conferences as the NFL's best clash in the 2002 AFC-NFC Pro Bowl at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii, SATURDAY, FEB. 9 (4:30 p.m. ET) on the ABC Television Network.

In the booth calling the AFC-NFC Pro Bowl for ABC Sports will be Al Michaels, who just completed his 16th season as the play-by-play voice of "Monday Night Football", and Hall of Fame and six-time Pro Bowl quarterback Dan Fouts. Hall of Fame and six-time Pro Bowl running back Eric Dickerson and Melissa Stark serve as the game reporters.

ABC Sports will employ "SkyCam" during its coverage of the AFC-NFC Pro Bowl. "SkyCam" is a camera suspended over the field on a series of cables. The camera, which runs both the length and width of the field, will provide viewers with unique replay angles. Additionally ABC will have six players wired for sound during the game. These players, three from each conference, will wear a wireless microphone that will enable the production staff to capture the sounds of the game and make them available to the viewers on a short turn-around.

Forty-three-man All-Star teams from the AFC and the NFC . . . The rosters were filled by a vote of the fans, players and coaches. Pittsburgh Steelers head coach Bill Cowher directs the AFC, while Philadelphia Eagles head coach Andy Reid leads the NFC.

The All-Star lineup of AFC players includes the Super Bowl XXXVI MVP, Tom Brady (New England Patriots). The 24-year-old is the youngest QB to lead his team to a Super Bowl victory. Joining him on the AFC offense is RB Priest Holmes (Kansas City Chiefs), the NFL's leading rusher, and WRs Marvin Harrison (Indianapolis Colts) and Tim Brown (Oakland Raiders). The offensive line is anchored by T Jonathan Ogden (Baltimore Ravens), who is making his fifth appearance, and C Kevin Mawae (New York Jets), making his third appearance. C Bruce Matthews (Tennessee Titans) is making his 14th consecutive trip to the Pro Bowl.

On defense the AFC squad is led by Super Bowl XXXV MVP LB Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens) and first time Pro Bowl DEs John Abraham (New York Jets) and Marcellus Wiley (San Diego Chargers). LB Junior Seau (San Diego Chargers) will be making his 11th Pro Bowl appearance and FS Rod Woodson (Baltimore Ravens) will be making his 10th trip.

The NFC offense is led by 2001 NFL MVP Kurt Warner (St. Louis Rams) and his teammate, RB Marshall Faulk. WRs David Boston (Arizona Cardinals) and Terrell Owens (San Francisco 49ers), ranked first and second in the NFC in receiving yards, join TE Bubba Franks (Green Bay Packers) as the main targets. Anchoring the offensive line is T Orlando Pace (St. Louis Rams), who is making his third trip to the Pro Bowl.

The NFC is led defensively by 2001NFL Defensive Player of the Year and the NFL's single season sack leader, Michael Strahan (New York Giants), and last year's Defensive Rookie of the Year, LB Brian Urlacher (Chicago Bears). CBs Ronde Barber (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), who led the league with 10 interceptions, joins Aeneas Williams who is making his first appearance as a St. Louis Ram after six trips as a member of the Arizona Cardinals.

The AFC-NFC Pro Bowl -- the 52nd in the format that began in Los Angeles in 1951 -- will be played for the 23rd consecutive year at Aloha Stadium. The American Football Conference defeated the National Conference 38-17 in last season's Pro Bowl. Since the game went to an AFC vs. NFC format, the NFC leads the series 16-15.

Fred Gaudelli is the producer and Drew Esocoff is the director of the AFC-NFC Pro Bowl.  HELP |  ADVERTISER INFO |  CONTACT US |  TOOLS |  SITE MAP
Copyright ©2001 ESPN Internet Group. Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and Safety Information are applicable to this site. Employment opportunities at