Ryan Villopoto victorious in Indy

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (February 20, 2010) -- In front of a packed crowd of 60,019, the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, season made its East Coast debut from Indianapolis' Lucas Oil Stadium. The premier AMA Supercross class entered the evening with a tie atop the standings between Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki's Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., and San Manuel Yamaha's Josh Hill, of Carlsbad, Calif. When the checkered flag flew tonight, Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., stood atop the podium for his third win of the season. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Christophe Pourcel, of Groveland, Fla., grabbed the victory in the opening round of the AMA Arenacross Lites Eastern Regional Championship.

Honda Red Bull Racing's Davi Millsaps, of Murrieta, Calif., kicked-off the 20-lap AMA Supercross main event by grabbing the Spike Holeshot Award with GEICO Powersports Honda's Kevin Windham, of Centreville, Miss., and Villopoto following in second and third, respectively. Millsaps and Windham would engage in a back-and-forth battle for the lead over the first couple laps before Windham made a pass stick on lap two. Villopoto would proceed to work his way to the front along with Dungey, as both riders moved by Millsaps. As the race hit the halfway mark, Villopoto battled with Windham, making the winning pass on lap 11 while Dungey took second the next lap. The trio would finish in that order – Villopoto, Dungey and Windham.

"Going out of the last chance I had the outside gate," said Villopoto, who failed to finish his heat race after a crash and had to qualify for the main event through the last chance qualifier. "I was second to last to line up (for the main event) and I really just can't thank the guys at Monster Energy Kawasaki enough. It was the fastest bike out there and I was able to get a good holeshot.

"Starting on the outside there killed me," he continued. "I was able to make something of it, which was awesome."

Villopoto's second straight win and third victory in the last four races moves him into a tie at the top of the standings with Dungey.

GEICO Powersports Honda's Justin Barcia, of Ochlocknee, Ga., raced to the AMA Arenacross Lites Spike Holeshot Award with Pourcel and Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Austin Stroupe, of Lincolnton, N.C., in tow. Pourcel quickly moved into the lead and never looked back, leading all 15 laps of the main event. Barcia kept the reigning class champion honest, but fell on lap three, dropping several positions. Pourcel crossed the line 5.22 seconds ahead of Stroupe in the runner-up spot to open up an early points lead while Barcia recovered to finish third for his first-career podium in his series debut.

"I just felt pretty good on my Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki," said Pourcel. "Everything was ok today for me so I am just really happy to win the race tonight. The track was pretty tight tonight and I needed to win the race so coming into the main event I just gave my best (effort)."

The Monster Energy Supercross series heads to Atlanta, Ga. next Saturday, February 27, for its eighth race of the season at the Georgia Dome.

AMA Supercross Class Results: Indianapolis
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda
Grant Langston, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 145
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 145
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 135
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 114
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 106
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 105
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 97
Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 74
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 69
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 61

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Indianapolis
Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki
Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha
Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki
Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha
Nico Izzi, Albany, Ga., Yamaha
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha
Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Suzuki

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki, 25
Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki, 22
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 20
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 18
Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 16
Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 15
Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha, 14
Nico Izzi, Albany, Ga., Yamaha, 13
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 12
Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Suzuki, 11