FMX triple threat slated for S.F.

X Games Freestyle gold medalist Taka Higashino will try to add a Dew Tour "triple threat" title in October. Chris Tedesco/ESPN

Organizers of the Dew Tour announced Tuesday that eight big-name freestyle motocross riders will compete at the next stop Oct. 18-21 in San Francisco.

Taka Higashino, Nate Adams, Lance Coury,
Adam Jones,
Mike Mason,
Todd Potter,
Javier Villegas and
Blake Williams have been confirmed for what's being dubbed the "FMX triple threat" competition. More competitors might be added for the event that will take place in front of San Francisco City Hall.

FMX great Carey Hart created the triple threat that consists of three rounds: no invert, best whip and rider's choice. The overall winner will take home the FMX Dew Cup in the only motocross event on this year's Dew Tour.

Mason won last year's Dew Tour Speed & Style FMX event in Salt Lake City, Utah.