Ski Hall of Fame adds 2010 inductees

Daron Rahlves, a former ski racer turned big-mountain film star, competed in the inaugural skier cross in the 2010 Olympics. He's one of six to be added to the Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame for 2010. Getty Images

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame announced this week six notable skiers who will be added to the famed collection this year, including Daron Rahlves, Glen Plake and the late Shane McConkey.

Paralympic medalist Muffy Davis, Olympian Bobby Cochran and Sun Valley and Snowbasin ski resort owner Earl Holding were also added to the list. All six will be inducted on April 2, 2011, at Sun Valley as part of a weeklong celebration of skiing history.

"This year's Hall of Fame inductees include some great diversity in contributions to our sport," Hall of Fame chairman Bernie Weichsel said this week. "Each shares in common a great passion for skiing and each has made a tremendous difference in bringing recognition to this lifelong sport enjoyed by millions around the world."

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame is located in Ishpeming, Mich., which calls itself the "birthplace of organized skiing in America." The organization has honored snowsports leaders since 1956. A 100-person voting panel chose the six inductees for 2010, which now brings the total number of people honored by the Hall of Fame to 374.

In snowboarding, Jake Burton Carpenter, the owner and founder of Burton Snowboards, will be added to another important list: the Colorado Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame. He will be honored Nov. 6 at the annual Colorado Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Induction Gala in Westminster, Colo.

Carpenter is one of six inducted into Colorado's hall of fame. The others include Horst Abraham, Ernst Constam, Harry Frampton, Trygve Myhren and Sandy Treat.