Welcome back to Santa Catarina

Yadin Nicol posted the day's only perfect ten today at the Supersurf Prime in Brazil. Daniel Smorgio

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 4

Long walls and surf stars. What more could the good folks at Imbituba ask for today for the opening of the SuperSurf World Prime in Brazil? This Santa Catarina venue was formerly the home of the Hang Loose Pro and last year, the Billabong Pro. If any local fans feel jilted that they didn't get to host a World Tour event, they shouldn't. They have to be stoked to still draw most of the best surfers in the world as well as a small army of Brazilian national stars.

The surf today was in the four to five-foot range, with an occasional set popping off a little bigger. There were some fat sections to contend with, but it was solid, and event directors got through 16 heats today.

Yadin Nicol continues to have a strong showing through this Brazilian leg. He posted both the highest wave late in the day with a perfect 10, and also the highest heat score, with an 18. That was a good margin from the next closest competitor, Tom Whitaker, who nailed up a 16.90. Nicol beat Royden Bryson handily and the two advanced over Gony Zubizarreta and David do Carmo.

Other standouts today included World Tour surfers Damien Hobgood, Jadson Andre, Gabe Kling, and Julian Wilson.

Among the younger American contingent, Kolohe Andino and John John Florence were both sent home, while Nat Young too first in his heat. When action resumes, Patrick Gudauskas, Leonardo Neves, Stu Kennedy, and Jack Freestone meet in heat 17. Cory Lopez, who could possibly requalify after four years off tour, surfs a few heats in.

SuperSurf Prime, Imbituba, Brazil
Round One Results
Heat 1: 1-Jadson André (BRA), 2-Adam Robertson (AUS), 3-Heath Joske (AUS), 4-Odirlei Coutinho (BRA)
Heat 2: 1-Jessé Mendes (BRA), 2-Yuri Sodré (BRA), 3-Glenn Hall (IRL), 4-Messias Felix (BRA)
Heat 3: 1-Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), 2-Nic Muscroft (AUS), 3-Brandon Jackson (AFR), 4-Tanner Gudauskas (EUA)
Heat 4: 1-Mason Ho (HAV), 2-Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 3-Kolohe Andino (EUA), 4-Caio Ibelli (BRA)
Heat 5: 1-Julian Wilson (AUS), 2-Hizunomê Bettero (BRA), 3-Dale Staples (AFR), 4-Pablo Paulino (BRA)
Heat 6: 1-Aritz Aranburu (ESP), 2-Travis Logie (AFR), 3-Eric Geiselman (EUA), 4-Alain Riou (TAH)
Heat 7: 1-Tom Whitaker (AUS), 2-Ben Dunn (AUS), 3-Jean da Silva (BRA), 4-Charlie Brown (BRA)
Heat 8: 1-João Abreu (BRA), 2-Bernardo Pigmeu (BRA), 3-Hodei Collazo (ESP), 4-Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: 1-Nathan Yeomans (EUA), 2-Paulo Moura (BRA), 3-Joan Duru (FRA), 4-Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 10: 1-Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), 2-Granger Larsen (HAV), 3-Robson Santos (BRA), 4-Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 11: 1-Gabe Kling (EUA), 2-Ricardo Santos (BRA), 3-Marc Lacomare (FRA), 4-Chris Waring (EUA)
Heat 12: 1-Lincoln Taylor (AUS), 2-Flavio Nakagima (BRA), 3-Shaun Joubert (AFR), 4-Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 13: 1-Damien Hobgood (EUA), 2-Austin Ware (EUA), 3-Ian Gouveia (BRA), 4-John John Florence (HAV)
Heat 14: 1-Nat Young (EUA), 2-Maxime Huscenot (FRA), 3-Simão Romão (BRA), 4-Tim Boal (FRA)
Heat 15: 1-Yadin Nicol (AUS), 2-Royden Bryson (AFR), 3-Gony Zubizareta (ESP), 4-David do Carmo (BRA)
Heat 16: 1-Kiron Jabour (HAV), 2-Leandro Bastos (BRA), 3-Caetano Vargas (BRA), 4-Tonino Benson (HAV)

Round One remaining heats

Heat 17: Patrick Gudauskas (EUA), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Stu Kennedy (AUS), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 18: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Junior Faria (BRA), Jano Belo (BRA), Tomas Hermes (BRA)
Heat 19: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Masatoshi Ohno (JAP), Dylan Graves (PRI), Gustavo Fernandes (BRA)
Heat 20: Luel Felipe (BRA), Shaun Cansdell (AUS), Pedro Henrique (BRA), Fabio Carvalho (BRA)
Heat 21: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Thiago Camarão (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 22: Cory Lopez (EUA), Kai Barger (HAV), Jeronimo Vargas (BRA), Romain Cloitre (FRA)
Heat 23: Billy Stairmand (NZL), Richard Christie (NZL), Davey Cathels (AUS), Chris Ward (EUA)
Heat 24: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jay Quinn (NZL), Blake Thornton (AUS), Tanio Barreto (BRA)

Round of 48
Heat 1: Jadson André (BRA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Jessé Mendes (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 2: Adam Robertson (AUS), Mason Ho (HAV), Yuri Sodré (BRA), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (ESP), Bernardo Pigmeu (BRA)
Heat 4: Travis Logie (AFR), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Hizunomê Bettero (BRA), João Abreu (BRA)
Heat 5: Nathan Yeomans (EUA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Ricardo Santos (BRA), Flavio Nakagima (BRA)
Heat 6: Gabe Kling (EUA), Granger Larsen (HAV), Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Paulo Moura (BRA)
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (EUA), Nat Young (EUA), Royden Bryson (AFR), Leandro Bastos (BRA)
Heat 8: Yadin Nicol (AUS), Austin Ware (EUA), Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Kiron Jabour (HAV)