Hearts on their singlet sleeves

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4

Billabong Pro Tahiti Finals Gallery

onClick="window.open('http://www.espn.com/action/surfing/gallery?id=5530918','Popup','width=990,height=720,scrollbars=no,noresize'); return false;"> WIDTH="203" HEIGHT="114" BORDER="0" ALT="">
It was a long, emotional week at "the end of the road," and the final day delivered. onClick="window.open('http://www.espn.com/action/surfing/gallery?id=5530918','Popup','width=990,height=720,scrollbars=no,noresize'); return false;"> GalleryPhoto Gallery

It was an emotional day at Teahupoo. The whole emotional gamut was on display from total frustration, to rage, to elation, to advanced stages of jubilation -- no one was holding back. The fact that the fellas have been Facebooking and hackey-sacking for seven straight lay days might have something to do with that.

The swell came up into the three to four-foot range on the Tahitian scale with ideal winds and barrels, if small ones for this man-eater of a wave. The surf was very performance oriented for Teahupoo -- kind of like enjoying a picnic on what's usually a battlefield.

It was also a busy day with 22 heats run. The last heat of the day saw Nate Yeomens and Jadson Andre paddling to the boats in the near dark.

The official start time was going to be 6:30 a.m. but Kekoa Becalso was missing from the first heat. He was given a little bit of leeway from the contest officials as they started the heat on the first set that came through and 6:40 am. Unfortunately Kekoa was still about a mile away, back at the marina angrily explaining he hadn't been informed about the start.

"Hey I didn't get no text," he yelled to officials as he was whisked away on a jet ski. He was about five minutes late for the start. He lost the heat but is yet to surf the second round.

Bobby Martinez and Taj Burrow, the defending champion and defending runner up, both lost twice. Virtually by the time the sunset afterglow had left the Tahitian sky, so had Martinez on the next flight.

"I don't know what happed," he said when he returned to the house, "I just don't have any answers. I just couldn't come out of any barrels today. I don't know what was wrong. Jeremy Flores was playing games with us in the first round and I wasn't worried about that loss, but I don't have any answers to my second round loss."

After Burrow's first round loss to Tiago Pires, he gave his Firewire a couple of quick punches. After his second round, it was a headbutt. His frustration was obvious.

Martinez, the most likely surfer to make Round Three lost to Brazilian, Marco Polo the least likely surfer to make Round Three. Polo had not won a single heat in the WCT until today, but was ecstatic after the win, yelling to a boatload of loyal Brazilian supporters. Adriano de Souza translated his yelling and explained he was "thanking God," for his win. Polo is sitting at No. 44 on the ASP ratings and would virtually have to win the contest to avoid the inevitable mid-season cut off from 45 to 32, which will take place after this contest.

Andy Irons wasn't thanking anyone after his loss in the first round. He finished second to Kelly with local Heiarii Williams third. Andy was bitter over a barrel he felt he'd been underscored on and let the judges know with a an arsenal of creative gestures.

Three local wildcards made it through today -- Manoa Drollet, Tamaroa McComb and Heiarii Williams all lit up the local crowd with their performance. For most of the day the channel was silent but not during the locals heats, when it erupted in support. Local WCT surfer Michel Bourez also won his heat, so it was a good day for the locals. The one who won't see the next round is Taumata Puhetini, the winner of last week's (seems like last month's) Von Zipper/Air Tahiti Nui Trials.

Dane Reynolds, who was more bummed to send home his California buddy, Timmy Reyes, than he was happy to have won, seemed to advance with ease, while the Hobgoods put experience to work for them. Mick Fanning didn't let the wildcard get the best of him, and Blake Thorton posted his first ever heat win with a blistering barrel for a 9.0 and the highest heat total of the day at 15.50

At the start of the day, there were six out of the ten surfers in our house that were facing the ASP 'cut off'. Tonight none of the six are out of the contest, but our numbers are down to nine with Bobby's departure after his loss. If the event continues to charge through the heats like it did on Monday might the emotional roller coaster come off the rails on Tuesday?

Catch Billabong's live webcast here. Go time today could be at 12:30 P.M. East Coast time and 9:30 in California.

Heat 1: Damien Hobgood (USA) 10.07, Jay Thompson (AUS) 1.83, Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) 1.00
Heat 2: Luke Stedman (AUS) 10.33, Nate Yeomans (USA) 8.83, Jadson Andre (BRA) 4.40
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.16, Marco Polo (BRA) 5.33, Bobby Martinez (USA) 5.33
Heat 4: Blake Thornton (AUS) 15.50, Tom Whitaker (AUS) 12.00, Dane Reynolds (USA) 11.60
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 9.66, Tim Reyes (USA) 5.34, Roy Powers (HAW) 2.73
Heat 6: Joan Duru (FRA) 10.10, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 7.60, Kieren Perrow (AUS) 6.90
Heat 7: Tamaroa McComb (PYF) 14.77, Mick Fanning (AUS) 9.50, Adam Melling (AUS) 5.70
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.30, Manoa Drollet (PYF) 10.40, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.41
Heat 9: Tiago Pires (PRT) 13.66, Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.40, Tuamata Puhetini (PYF) 10.43
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA) 14.00, Andy Irons (HAW) 13.97, Heiarii Williams (PYF) 12.57
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.50, Dusty Payne (HAW) 9.03, Drew Courtney (AUS) 0.20
Heat 12: Owen Wright (AUS) 11.27, Brett Simpson (USA) 8.53, Neco Padaratz (BRA) 7.73
Heat 13: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 11.93, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 11.46, Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 8.43
Heat 14: Michel Bourez (PYF) 13.23, Dean Morrison (AUS) 9.00, Mick Campbell (AUS) 5.43
Heat 15: Luke Munro (AUS) 14.03, Travis Logie (ZAF) 12.94, Taylor Knox (USA) 9.93
Heat 16: Ben Dunn (AUS) 10.87, Chris Davidson (AUS) 7.90, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 6.92


Heat 1: Manoa Drollet (PYF) 14.76 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.33
Heat 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.00 def. Tuamata Puhetini (PYF) 7.27
Heat 3: Heiarii Williams (PYF) 14.03 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.43
Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA) 16.27 def. Tim Reyes (USA) 12.50
Heat 5: Marco Polo (BRA) 9.84 def. Bobby Martinez (USA) 7.83
Heat 6: Nate Yeomans (USA) 12.73 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 9.00

Heat 7: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 10: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Adam Melling (AUS) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 12: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 13: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Dean Morrsion (AUS)
Heat 15: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 16: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)