FSU's Fisher and Buckley win charity golf event

First-year FSU coach Jimbo Fisher notched his first win, and he had to beat Paul Johnson and Butch Davis to do it.

Fisher and former Noles defensive back Terrell Buckley combined to shoot a seven-under-par 65 to win the 2010 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament Tuesday at the Reynolds Plantation resort in Georgia. Beating Johnson on the golf course is no small task. The guy takes his game pretty seriously. He's heading to Augusta National soon.

From the release:

Buckley holed a 15-foot, right-breaking putt for birdie on 18 to move to -7 and hold off a charging Georgia Tech team down the stretch. The Yellow Jackets finished one back at -6, and two-time defending champion South Carolina finished third at -5.

“We regrouped on the back nine and strung together a few birdies,” Fisher said. “Then we made that big putt on 18. It was very competitive out there and just a super event.”

The win paid off in $120,000 in scholarship donations to FSU. The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge contributed a total of $400,000 in scholarship money to the 12 universities that competed.

Each team included a head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from the ACC and SEC. The ACC coaches are very familiar with the course, as both Frank Beamer and Ralph Friedgen have houses on Lake Oconee, and the plantation is in the rotation of sites for the annual summer ACC football kickoff with the media. (It's a posh place, trust me.) Beamer won this event with Del Curry in 2007.

Here are the final results (somehow Wake Forest and Vandy can't seem to shake each other):

Florida State (Jimbo Fisher/Terrell Buckley) -7, $120,000

Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson/Jon Barry) -6, $60,000

South Carolina (Steve Spurrier/Sterling Sharpe) -5, $50,000

North Carolina (Butch Davis/Natrone Means) -4, $40,000

NC State (Sidney Lowe/Monte Towe) -2, $30,000

Alabama (Nick Saban/Steve Sloan) +1, $17,500

Maryland (Ralph Friedgen/Stan Gelbaugh) +1, $17,500

Vanderbilt (Bobby Johnson/Will Perdue) +1, $17,500

Wake Forest (Jim Grobe/Billy Packer) +1, $17,500

Ole Miss (Houston Nutt/Wesley Walls) +2, $10,000

Clemson (Dabo Swinney/Dwight Clark) +3, $10,000

Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer/Brad Clontz) +4, $10,000

The tournament was taped by ESPN for broadcast in the fall. The date of the broadcast will be announced this summer.