Two ACC players elected to college HOF

Dennis Byrd of NC State and Duke's Clarkston Hines were among the 14 newly elected members of the College Football Hall of Fame, which was announced Thursday.

They were selected from a national ballot that included 77 candidates.

A defensive tackle under coach Earle Edwards from 1964-67, Byrd was twice named a first team All-American and was the first NC State player to garner consensus All-American honors. As a member of the famed “White Shoes” defense, he led the Pack to a share of the 1965 ACC title en route to earning the school’s first-ever postseason win, as the Pack defeated Georgia in the 1967 Liberty Bowl.

Hines earned first-team, All-American honors in 1988 and 1989. He was the 1989 ACC Player of the Year and still holds league records for career touchdown receptions (38) and career 100-yard receiving games (17). He was the only player in ACC history to have three straight seasons with at least 1,000 receiving yards. The Chapel Hill, N.C., native finished his career in 1989 with 61 catches and set school single-season records of 1,149 yards and 17 touchdowns.