UVa's Monroe wins Jacobs Blocking Trophy

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

This came in from the league office on Sunday:

Virginia's Eugene Monroe has been awarded the 2008 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced today.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league's head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

A first-team preseason All-ACC selection this season, Monroe, a 6-foot-6, 315-pound senior, was an Honorable Mention All-ACC selection at tackle in 2007. A two-year starter at tackle for the Cavaliers, he was the leader of a young offensive line which has given up an ACC-low 16 sacks this year.

Monroe has started 29 games in his career for the Cavaliers, and this year earned the highest blocking grade in 7 of Virginia's first 11 games. He earned Honorable Mention All-ACC honors as a junior last season.

"We are absolutely thrilled for Eugene and very proud of him not just because he won, but because of how he won," said UVa head coach Al Groh. "Eugene's early career was not easy for him. But it was his personality, determination to be great, and the work ethic that he developed that enabled him to raise his performance level, which led those he played against to recognize him as the best."

The South Plainfield, N.J., native was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week following the North Carolina game on Oct. 18 for his play in Virginia's overtime upset win over then 18th-ranked North Carolina as both of Virginia's scores-including the game winner in the first overtime period, came behind his blocks.

Monroe is the 11th Virginia player to win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, but the first since Elton Brown won the award in 2004.