Paul Hornung watch list announced

The watch list for the inaugural Paul Hornung Award that will be given annually to the most versatile player in major college football was announced Tuesday.

From the release:

The Watch List, comprised of 48 players, was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2009 statistics and expectations heading into the 2010 season. The list will be updated during the course of the season based on players' performances.

Nearly half of the players -- a total of 23 -- do not appear on any major college football award watch list published to date. Most candidates had a minimum of three different "touches" in 2009 -- catching, running, passing, returning kicks, returning punts, holding for placements, tackling, deflecting / intercepting a pass or recovering a fumble.

Here are the ACC's representatives:

Graig Cooper, Miami

Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech

Greg Reid, Florida State

Dyrell Roberts, Virginia Tech

Da'Norris Searcy, North Carolina

Torrey Smith, Maryland

Jerrard Tarrant, Georgia Tech