ACC has nine candidates on '09 HOF ballot

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

The 2009 College Football Hall of Fame ballot was released on Tuesday, and the ACC has nine candidates from seven different schools. The newest members will be announced live on ESPNEWS at a noon press conference in New York City on April 30 and inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2009, at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2010.

Here are the representatives from the ACC, along with the full release, which includes short bios about each one:

Dennis Byrd -- North Carolina State, defensive tackle (1964-67)

Marco Coleman -- Georgia Tech, linebacker (1989-91)

Gary Collins -- Maryland, wide receiver (1958-61)

Clarkston Hines -- Duke, wide receiver (1986-89)

Russell Maryland -- Miami, defensive tackle (1986-90)

Deion Sanders -- Florida State, defensive back (1985-88)

Pat Swilling -- Georgia Tech, defensive end (1982-85)

Lawrence Taylor -- North Carolina, linebacker (1977-80)

Gino Torretta -- Miami, quarterback (1989-92)