ACC's Butkus Award semifinalists

Four ACC linebackers are among the 15 semifinalists announced this week for the Butkus Award. The Butkus Award is presented annually to the nation’s top linebacker. Wake Forest’s Aaron Curry was the last ACC player to win the Butkus Award, being named after the 2008 season.

North Carolina OLB Bruce Carter, NC State ILB Nate Irving, Boston College ILB Luke Kuechly and Miami OLB Sean Spence were all named Butkus semifinalists. The ACC was the only conference with four honorees named. The Pac-10 and Big 12 had three apiece, followed by the SEC with 2.