ACC semifinalists for Paterno Award

Three ACC coaches -- NC State's Tom O'Brien, Miami's Randy Shannon and Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer, were among the 15 semifinalists for the first Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year.

The award winner is decided on by the Maxwell Football Club's committee. To honor the spirit of Paterno's persona, the winner is based on success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, Dec. 6. The formal announcement of the award will be made on Dec. 18. Joe Paterno is not eligible for this award.