ACC in the Afternoon

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

A few quick football notes for you to end the neverending day ...

Coach Paul Johnson decided to award defensive back Mario Edwards and offensive linemen Zach Krish and Sean Bedford with scholarships for the 2009-10 season.

Also, former Georgia Tech football All-American Pat Swilling, a leader of the Yellow Jackets' "Black Watch" defense of the mid-1980s, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former Miami quarterback Gino Toretta was also selected as a 2009 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame. Swilling and Toretta were the ACC's only representatives.

Torretta is the fourth Hurricane player to be selected for induction joining Bennie Blades, (2006), Don Bosseler (1990), and Ted Hendricks (1987). Former coaches Andy Gustafson (1985) and Jack Harding (1980) are also members.

This year's class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., during ceremonies in the summer of 2010.