ACC's Pro Bowl selections

For the third straight year, the ACC leads all conferences in the number of former players selected from its current schools to play in the NFL's Pro Bowl, which will be held on Jan. 30 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii, and will be nationally televised by Fox.

The ACC had 19 former players selected to play in this year’s Pro Bowl. The SEC was second with 13 selections and the Pac-10 was third with 12. The Big Ten and the Big 12 had nine each.

The ACC also led all conferences in number of starting players named to the Pro Bowl, with 12 of its 19 selections projected as starters. The Big Ten was second with seven starters, followed by the Pac-10 (5), the SEC (4) and the Big East, Big 12, Conference USA and the Mid-American Conference with three starters each.

Miami led all individual schools with nine of its former standouts playing in the Pro Bowl. Tennessee was next with five followed by USC and California each with three selections. A total of 11 schools had two selections, including three ACC schools in NC State, Boston College and Virginia Tech. Four other ACC schools had one selection each including Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia and Wake Forest.