ACC has 7 on watch list for Chuck Bednarik Award

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

The ACC had seven players named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list for the award given to college football's defensive player of the year. There were 55 players on the list.

Duke defensive tackle Vince Oghobaase and North Carolina's Marvin Austin were among the 10 defensive tackles on the list. Also from the ACC is Georgia Tech safety Morgan Burnett, North Carolina linebacker Quan Sturdivant, Virginia Tech defensive end Jason Worilds, Maryland linebacker Alex Wujciak and NC State defensive end Willie Young.

Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced on Nov. 4 and three finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 23. The winner of the 2009 Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 10, 2009. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club.