ACC announces 2011 legends class

Led by two members of the professional football Hall of Fame, former North Carolina linebacker Chris Hanburger and former Miami center Jim Otto, and two-time ACC Player of the Year Ben Bennett of Duke, the ACC on Tuesday announced its Class of 2011 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends.

The Legends will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event on Friday, Dec. 2, and during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the 7th Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which has an 8 p.m. kickoff on Dec. 3 and will be nationally televised by ESPN in both HD and 3-D.

Also in this year's class are:

  • Boston College's Stephen Boyd

  • Clemson's Perry Tuttle

  • Georgia Tech's Lucius Sanford

  • Maryland's Rich Novak

  • Virginia Tech's Mike Johnson

  • Wake Forest's Larry Russell

  • NC State placekicker Marc Primanti

  • Florida State's Andre Wadsworth

  • Virginia's Chris Slade