Eight ACC players on Butkus Award watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich While this list is flattering, it's also a reminder of who won't be playing for the ACC this year. NC State linebacker Nate Irving is one of the players on the Butkus Award watch list, as is BC linebacker Mike McLaughlin, whose return from a torn Achilles is still uncertain. Can the ACC repeat Butkus Award winners? Wake's Aaron Curry won it last year. The Butkus Award is presented annually to the nation's top linebacker, and the ACC certainly has a few of those worth looking at. Here are the other conference players who were recognized: Bruce Carter, UNC Kavell Conner, Clemson Daryl Sharpton, Miami Sean Spence, Miami Quan Sturdivant, UNC Dekoda Watson, FSU