ACC has three Walter Camp All-Americans

Congrats to the ACC's three Walter Camp first-team All-Americans: Florida State punter Shawn Powell, Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly and NC State cornerback David Amerson.

The nation’s oldest All-America team was announced live Thursday evening on "The Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards" show. The team is selected by the head coaches and sports-information directors of the 120 FBS schools.

Kuechly has 191 tackles this season, an average of 15.9 per game; he is Boston College’s lone two-time Walter Camp recipient. Amerson led the nation with 11 interceptions. Only three other players in NC State history have been named to the Walter Camp first team — and Amerson is the first in 32 years. Amerson also earned the Jim Tatum Award, given to the nation's top defensive back. Powell led the nation with a 47.0 yards-per-punt average. The last Seminole punter to earn first team All-America honors from any organization was Rohn Stark, who was a consensus selection in 1981 and went on to enjoy a long NFL career.

Powell, who also handles all of the placement kick-holding duties for the Seminoles, was in Orlando on Thursday night as a guest of kicker Dustin Hopkins, who was a finalist for the Lou Groza Award (which was won by Texas A&M's Randy Bullock).

Clemson junior tight end Dwayne Allen was the recipient of the John Mackey Award. Allen is the first Clemson offensive player to win a national position award and third overall; in 1982, Terry Kinard was named CBS National Defensive Player of the Year. Last year, Da’Quan Bowers won the Bronko Nagurski Award as the top defensive player in the nation, and won the Ted Hendricks Award as the top defensive end.