ACC announces legends class

The ACC on Monday announced its class of 2012 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends.

It's a particularly strong 12-member class this year, led by two members of the College Football Hall of Fame in former Miami defensive end Ted Hendricks and former Duke guard Mike McGee. It also includes former ACC Players of the Year Frank Quayle of Virginia and Torry Holt of NC State.

From the release:

The group includes three former Players of the Year, six consensus first-team All-Americas, seven first-team All-Americas, and 10 players who combined for 84 years in the NFL. Eleven of the legends were drafted into the NFL, including eight first- or second-round draft choices. In all, the collection of players combined for three national championships, six ACC Championships, 10 NFL Super Bowl appearances and nine Super Bowl titles.

Also in this year's class are Boston College offensive guard Bob Hyland, the Eagles' first lineman to be taken in the first round of the NFL Draft; Clemson tight end Bennie Cunningham, a consensus first-team All-America for the Tigers in 1974; Florida State linebacker Sam Cowart, a consensus first-team All-America for the Seminoles in 1997; and Georgia Tech safety Ken Swilling, a consensus first-team All-America for the Jackets’ 1990 National Championship team.

The class also includes Maryland’s Chet “The Jet” Hanulak, an All-America running back off the Terrapins’ 1953 National Champions; North Carolina’s Dre’ Bly, a two-time consensus first-team All-America and one of the top cover cornerbacks in league history; Virginia Tech defensive back Pierson Prioleau, an All-America defensive back for the Hokies in the late 1990s and Wake Forest’s Ed Stetz, two-time All-ACC linebacker and defensive stalwart for the Demon Deacons’ 1970 ACC Championship team.