Werner a finalist for Nagurski Trophy

Florida State defensive end Bjoern Werner was named one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, given annually to the best defensive player in the nation.

Werner has eight sacks on the season and 12.5 tackles for loss, along five quarterback hurries, a forced fumble, six pass breakups and six passes deflections on the No. 1 defense in the nation. He is the third Florida State finalist for the Nagurski Trophy, joining Derrick Brooks in 1993 and Sam Cowart in 1997.

The winner will be announced Dec. 3. The award is presented by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Here are the other finalists: