Former Clemson AD to enter bowl's HOF

Former Clemson athletic director Terry Don Phillips, who recently retired, is one of five men who will be inducted into this year's Chick-fil-A Bowl Hall of Fame.

Phillips joins corporate contributor Ron Allen, former Tennessee head coach Phillip Fulmer, former executive director Robert Dale Morgan, and former Georgia lineman Matt Stinchcomb. Honorees will be inducted in an on-field ceremony prior to the Dec. 31 Chick-fil-A Bowl featuring No. 8 LSU against No. 14 Clemson. The game will be nationally televised by ESPN at 7:30 pm ET.

From the release:

Phillips retired as the Clemson athletic director in November 2012. In his 10 years in Death Valley, many of Clemson’s sports have competed for ACC and national titles while also setting a university record for collective GPA in the 2011-12 academic year. Phillips also focused on improving the athletic facilities of every sport, including the WestZone project at Memorial Stadium. Clemson appeared in the Chick-fil-A Bowl twice during Phillips’ time as athletic director. The Tigers defeated Tennessee in the 2003 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and fell to Auburn in the game’s only overtime matchup in history in 2007. Phillips was also instrumental in Clemson’s involvement in the 2008 and 2012 Chick-fil-A Kickoff Games.

Established in 2002, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Hall of Fame honors former players, coaches and contributors, as well as staff and volunteers, who have had a significant impact on the Bowl. There are now 36 current members, including players such as Mike Singletary, Reggie White and Jim Kelly, and coaches including Bobby Dodd, Vince Dooley and Lou Holtz.