FSU's Hudson wins Jacobs Blocking Trophy

Florida State’s Rodney Hudson has been awarded the 2010 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the ACC announced Sunday. Hudson, who also won the award in 2009, becomes one of just 11 players in ACC history to be a two-time recipient of the Jacobs Trophy.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. The trophy will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event, which will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

Hudson totaled 23 points, including six first-place votes, to beat Boston College senior offensive tackle Anthony Castonzo (13), Miami senior offensive tackle Orlando Franklin (12) and Clemson senior offensive tackle Chris Hairston (10).

Hudson, who has made 46 career starts at guard, graded out to 87 percent this year with 44 knockdown blocks. He has been penalized only once in 772 snaps this year. He is also the only offensive lineman nominated for ACC Player of the Year by the ACC’s football coaches.