Duke leads ACC with six NFF honor society members

Six Duke players made the NFF honor society, the most of any school in the ACC. AP Photo/Seth Wenig

Duke had six players inducted Wednesday into the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of players who maintained at least a cumulative 3.2 GPA throughout their careers. The Blue Devils’ six selections were by far the most of any team in the ACC, which had 16 inductees, plus two from Notre Dame.

Qualifications include being a significant contributor in one’s last season of eligibility, achieving a 3.2 GPA throughout and meeting all progress toward degree requirements.

Here are the ACC’s selections:

Boston College: David Dudeck

Duke: Kelby Brown, Kyler Brown, Ross Martin, Max McCaffrey, David Reeves, Cody Robinson

Georgia Tech: Patrick Skov

Louisville: John Wallace

NC State: Benson Browne, Joe Thuney

Pitt: Mark Scarpinato

Syracuse: Riley Dixon, Rob Trudo

Virginia: Ian Frye

Wake Forest: Hunter Williams

Of note: Fresno State also had six inductees, matching Duke for the second-most selections among FBS teams in the nation. Akron led the FBS with seven. Notre Dame had two selections: Steve Elmer and Joe Schmidt.