Sparano misses out on first coach award

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Graham
There's an awful lot of indignation among Dolfans that their team isn't getting enough credit when it comes to annual honors.

The Maxwell Club won't soothe their irritation. It has chosen Tennessee Titans head coach Jeff Fisher for its 20th annual Earle "Greasy" Neale Award for coach of the year.

Out of 1,109 votes, Fisher received 332 of them. Dolphins coach Tony Sparano finished second with 292 votes. Atlanta Falcons coach Mike Smith was third with 185 votes.

The Associated Press' coach of the year, considered by many the most prestigious version of the award, will be revealed Sunday.

The Maxwell Club also selected Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson for its 50th annual Bert Bell Award for league MVP.

No, Dolfans, you won't find any satisfaction here, either. Chad Pennington didn't finish in the top four. Peterson was followed by Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning (who won the Associated Press MVP award Friday), Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner and New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

The Maxwell Club didn't break down the other candidates, so we don't know where Pennington finished.

The Maxwell Club's voting panel, according to its Web site, consists of NFL coaching staffs and football personnel, members of the Maxwell Football Club and national and local media.

For the record, I am not a member of this or any other football awards panel.