More thoughts on Super Bowl Bills and the Hall

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Graham
Earlier, we explored the likelihood more members of the Buffalo Bills team that lost four Super Bowls would make the Pro Football Hall of Fame than the three-time champion New England Patriots.

But how many of those Bills will make it?

I asked ESPN's John Clayton what he thought. Clayton is in the Hall of Fame writer's wing and an influential voice on the Hall of Fame's Board of Selectors.

Head coach Marv Levy, quarterback Jim Kelly and running back Thurman Thomas already are enshrined. So is receiver James Lofton, who played in two of the Bills' four Super Bowls. Defensive end Bruce Smith, receiver Andre Reed and owner Ralph Wilson are finalists this year.

Clayton predicted Smith would be a first-ballot Hall of Famer, but Reed will keep waiting for the call. Clayton also claimed Steve Tasker doesn't belong in the Hall of Fame.

Although some Bills fans bang the drum for guys like Kent Hull, Jim Ritcher, Cornelius Bennett and Darryl Talley, none are anywhere near the Hall of Fame radar and won't be getting in. Ever.

This is the third year Reed is a finalist. Most players who become finalists eventually are inducted. Exceptions, however, include Miami Dolphins guard Bob Kuechenberg (eight times), Oakland Raiders cornerback Lester Hayes (four times) and Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler (three times).

"Reed probably will get there," Clayton said. "But when Jerry Rice or Tim Brown [become eligible], he'll get pushed back another spot. The fact is, Reed's maybe four or five years away from getting in."

Clayton disagrees with legions of Bills fans who believe Tasker should be inducted. The NFL Network ranked the special-teams maven ninth on its list of the top 10 eligible players not in the Hall of Fame.

"How can you put Tasker in when a guy like Derrick Thomas isn't?" Clayton asked.