Patriots reveal Hall of Fame finalists

Overlooked amid the Brandon Marshall fuss was the New England Patriots announcing three finalists for their Hall of Fame.

The nomination committee selected center Jon Morris, defensive tackle Houston Antwine and fullback Sam "Bam" Cunningham as this year's candidates.

The Patriots are the only NFL team that allows fans to make the final call for induction. You can cast your vote at Patriots.com through May 31. The verdict will be revealed in June. The induction will take place prior to the preseason home opener Aug. 12.

Morris has been a finalist the past three years. The Holy Cross grad spent 11 seasons with the Patriots. He was chosen the team's top rookie in 1964, named a Pro Bowler or AFL All-Star seven times and selected as the center for the Patriots' 50th anniversary team last year.

Antwine is a finalist for the second time. He played 11 seasons for the Patriots and led them in sacks from 1967 through 1969. His 39 sacks still rank 10th in franchise history. Antwine was a Pro Bowler or AFL All-Star six times. He and Vince Wilfork were the defensive tackles on the golden anniversary squad.

Cunningham was the fullback on the 50th anniversary team. He retired from the Patriots as their all-time leading rusher with 5,453 yards and 43 touchdowns. Cunningham led the Patriots in rushing six times during his nine seasons and went to a Pro Bowl. He had an epic season in 1978, rushing for 1,015 yards while leading the Patriots with 42 receptions. That year, Patriots set an NFL record that would stand for 31 years with 3,165 rushing yards.