Miami Dolphins schedule analysis

Breakdown: The Joe Philbin era gets underway for the Miami Dolphins in 2012, with a strength of schedule ranked 18th in the NFL.

The Dolphins will have an entirely new look under Philbin, who was the former offensive coordinator of the Green Bay Packers. The Dolphins are in the process of implementing a new West Coast offense as well as principles of a 4-3 defense.

Miami is rebuilding but should give opponents trouble this season with a solid defense. The team also has a quarterback competition to settle in training camp, between veteran David Garrard and incumbent Matt Moore.

Complaint department: I have two complaints about the Dolphins' schedule. The bigger is that Miami received a very tough draw in the opening game at the Houston Texans. Houston should be very good season, a Super Bowl contender in the AFC. The Dolphins have to work out a lot of wrinkles under a new head coach and will be coming off a quarterback competition in training camp. This probably will be an awful start for Miami's new regime, which has to guard against losing confidence. The league could've helped by providing an easier opening opponent or at least a home game for Miami. Second, the Dolphins do not play the reigning AFC East champion New England Patriots until Weeks 13 and 17. Although I don't expect it, the Dolphins might surprise and find themselves in the wild-card hunt late in the year. But two December games against New England would quickly end those hopes.

Lone prime-timer: Every team is required to play in a prime-time game this year. I'm not sure how I feel about that rule. But Miami will get its only national game on Thursday night, Nov. 15, against the AFC East rival Buffalo Bills. With a pair of 6-10 teams, this feels kind of forced by the television networks. Things can always change via performance -- and Buffalo is my sleeper pick this season -- but right now Dolphins-Bills doesn't look like an attractive national game.

Dolphins Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 9, at Houston, 1:00 PM

Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 16, Oakland, 4:15 PM

Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 23, N.Y. Jets, 1:00 PM

Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 30, at Arizona, 4:05 PM

Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 7, at Cincinnati, 1:00 PM

Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 14, St. Louis, 1:00 PM

Week 7: BYE

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 28, at N.Y. Jets, 1:00 PM

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 4, at Indianapolis, 1:00 PM

Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 11, Tennessee, 1:00 PM

Week 11: Thursday, Nov. 15, at Buffalo, 8:20 PM

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 25, Seattle, 1:00 PM

Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 2, New England, 1:00 PM

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 9, at San Francisco, 4:05 PM

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 16, Jacksonville, 1:00 PM

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 23, Buffalo, 1:00 PM

Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 30, at New England, 1:00 PM