Bill Parcells elected to Hall of Fame

"The Tuna" is heading to Canton, Ohio.

After three years of missing the cut, former coach Bill Parcells was voted into the 2013 Hall of Fame class. He will join a distinguished modern-era group that includes Jonathan Ogden, Cris Carter, Warren Sapp and Larry Allen. Dave Robinson and Curley Culp are two additional entrants not from the modern era.

Parcells is best known for changing the fortunes of franchises. He won two Super Bowls with the New York Giants. Parcells also got the New England Patriots to a Super Bowl. In his NFL swan song, Parcells led the Miami Dolphins to the playoffs in his first year as team president in 2008.

He was a rarity in that he could both recognize talent as good as any general manager and coach them up on the field. Many have tried that approach and failed.

The news was good for Parcells, but not good for fellow AFC East representative Andre Reed. The former Buffalo Bills receiver was passed over as a finalist for the seventh time.

Reed's Hall of Fame window might be closing. We are in the era of high-volume passing in the NFL, and soon there will be more and more receivers coming down the pipe with off-the-chart numbers. Terrell Owens, Marvin Harrison and Randy Moss, when he retires, are three that immediately come to mind.

The more time that goes by, the less impressive Reed's numbers from the 1980s and 1990s will appear.

While Parcells celebrates Saturday, Reed has to look ahead to another tough year of waiting for a Hall of Fame call.