Prepping for Patriots Hall meeting

The Patriots Hall of Fame nomination committee is scheduled to meet Wednesday afternoon (noon-2 p.m. ET), with the mission of narrowing a deserving field of candidates to three.

From that point, a fan vote will take place on the team's official website to determine the 2014 Hall of Fame inductee.

A few notes about the process:

Eligibility guidelines: Every former Patriots player or head coach who has been retired for at least four years is eligible for consideration.

Who's in the Hall? John Hannah (1991), Nick Buoniconti (1992), Gino Cappelletti (1992), Bob Dee (1993), Jim Lee Hunt (1993), Steve Nelson (1993), Vito "Babe" Parilli (1993), Mike Haynes (1994), Steve Grogan (1995), Andre Tippett (1999), Bruce Armstrong (2001), Stanley Morgan (2007), Ben Coates (2008), Jim Nance (2009), Billy Sullivan (2009), Sam Cunningham (2010), Jon Morris (2011), Drew Bledsoe (2011), Troy Brown (2012), Tedy Bruschi (2013), Gil Santos (2013).

Past finalists not in the Hall: Ron Burton (2007), Houston Antwine (2009-11), Bill Parcells (2011-12), Fred Marion (2012), Chuck Fairbanks (2013), Leon Gray (2013).

First-year eligible in 2014: LB Larry Izzo, CB Ty Law.

Second-year eligible in 2014: S Rodney Harrison, LB/DE Willie McGinest.

Hall committee: The nomination committee is made up of of 19-20 people who have a long history with the team -- including retired reporters, current reporters, Patriots alumni and others.