Patriots have had five QBs start since 2000, while Dolphins have had 17

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. -- As the second week of the 2017 AFC East roundtable comes to a close on Friday, the question is whether the Miami Dolphins should stick with quarterback Ryan Tannehill. My thought is that if not Tannehill, then whom?

Bringing things closer to home, the Dolphins’ quest to find a franchise quarterback since Dan Marino’s final season in 1999 has been a contrast to what the New England Patriots have experienced over that same span.

The Patriots have had just five quarterbacks start games from 2000-2016: Drew Bledsoe, Tom Brady, Matt Cassel, Jimmy Garoppolo and Jacoby Brissett.

The Dolphins have had 17: Jay Fiedler, Damon Huard, Ray Lucas, Brian Griese, A.J. Feeley, Sage Rosenfels, Gus Frerotte, Joey Harrington, Daunte Culpepper, Cleo Lemon, Trent Green, John Beck, Chad Pennington, Chad Henne, Tyler Thigpen, Matt Moore and Tannehill.

Tannehill, the full-time starter since 2012, has had the longest run in that role of any of those quarterbacks.

This difference, which has obviously a result of Brady developing into a future Hall of Famer and fighting off Father Time, reflects how things can change quickly in the NFL.

From 1983-1999, the Dolphins had nine different starting quarterbacks, with Marino the clear-cut No. 1. If he was healthy, it was Marino's team.

Over that same period, the Patriots had 12 different starting quarterbacks, with the biggest period of instability from 1987-1992.