AFC South Pro Bowl voting standings

The Pro Bowl is a fraud. I hate that it’s been so watered down, that the eighth quarterback in a conference can now get in and get the same line on his résumé that a record-setter gets. Thus it’s gotten no attention here.

There is a week left in fan voting. Here’s your one update on where AFC South players stand.

Later this week I hope to tell you who’s worthy of a vote in my eyes.

Then I’ll tell you who gets in and stay away from it as much as possible.

As I’ve said repeatedly, they should call off the game, name the team in a way where there are no alternates needed, give guys that honor and have them all to a giant banquet where MVP and all the big awards are awarded. I’d love a giant, live, skills competition earlier the same day -- fastest man, most accurate quarterback, strongest, etc.

I’ve left off positions where there are no division players in the top five. Fan votes account for one-third of the ballot, with players one-third and coaches one-third. Pro Bowl fan voting will continue online and on web-enabled mobile phones by going to NFL.com/probowl through Monday, December 20. The teams will be announced December 28.


1) Tom Brady; 2) Peyton Manning; 3) Philip Rivers; 4) David Garrard

Running backs

1) Arian Foster; 2) Peyton Hillis; 3) Chris Johnson; 4) Maurice Jones-Drew

Wide receivers

1) Andre Johnson; 2) Reggie Wayne


1) LeRon McClain; 2) Mike Tolbert; 3) Vonta Leach; 4) Tony Richardson; 5) Greg Jones

Tight ends

1) Antonio Gates; 2) Marcedes Lewis


1) Jeff Saturday

Defensive ends

1) Dwight Freeney; 2) Mario Williams; 3) Robert Mathis

Free safeties

1) Ed Reed; 2) Ryan Clark; 3) Patrick Chung; 4) Brian Dawkins; 5) Antoine Bethea


1) Sebastian Janikowski; 2) Adam Vinatieri; 3) Josh Scobee


1) Shane Lechler; 2) Zoltan Mesko; 3) Pat McAfee

Special teamer

1) Keyaron Fox; 2) Jacob Tamme