Colts: No word from NFL on reversed call

INDIANAPOLIS -- Not that it'll do anything to change the outcome of the game, but Indianapolis Colts coach Chuck Pagano still had yet to hear from the NFL on Monday afternoon about the reversed call late in the second quarter of Sunday's loss to the Cincinnati Bengals.

The Colts thought they had stuffed Bengals running BenJarvus Green-Ellis when defensive tackle Josh Chapman tripped him up on fourth-and-goal at the 1-yard line.

That's what the officials originally ruled at least.

But after reviewing the play, referee Jeff Triplette reversed the call and said Green-Ellis wasn't touched before crossing the goal line. The touchdown gave the Bengals a 14-0 lead at halftime, and they scored on their first possession of the third quarter to take a 21-0 lead.

"I just trust our guys and (Chapman's) reaction to the play was the runner fell down," Pagano said. "And we saw video, saw the jumbotron just like everybody else and his reaction. During the time (he was) saying, 'I made the play, I made the play.' I trust our guys and it is what is."

Chapman knows he tripped Green-Ellis up, but he also acknowledged that they wouldn't have been in that position if they played better defense.

"I look at it this way: the guy should have never been down there," Chapman said. "We should've handled our business from the beginning. But when they get in the red zone, our job is to keep them out of the red zone."

Triplette gave a vague explanation on the reversal of the call to a pool reporter after the game that said they "reviewed the video at the goal line, there was nobody touching him there, and then he bounced into the end zone."

An NFL spokesman told USA TODAY in an email that the reversal was a "judgment call."

"Jeff determined in the review that the runner was not down by contact," league spokesman Greg Aiello wrote the newspaper.