AFL anniversary games are announced

Posted by ESPN.com's Bill Williamson

The NFL announced there will be 16 AFL Legacy Games in 2009.

Half of the games will involve the four AFC West teams. All four teams in the division were AFL teams and all four teams will be part of the 50th anniversary celebration of the league. Included in the games featuring AFC West teams are two Monday night games and a Thanksgiving Day game. Oakland will be featured four times, San Diego and Kansas City will be featured three times each and Denver will be featured twice.

Denver will wear its 1960 uniform: a brown and yellow uniform and a brown helmet. Kansas City, which spent its first three seasons known as the Dallas Texans, will wear the uniform from its 1962 championship season. It will be a red and white uniform and a red helmet with the outline of the state of Texas on it.

Oakland will wear a uniform from the 1963 season, which happened to be Al Davis' first year with the team. The Raiders will wear an away white jersey with silver numbers outlined in black and a silver helmet with the original Raiders' logo. San Diego will wear the uniform from its 1963 championship season featuring white pants with yellow bolt going down the leg.

Below are the games that will feature AFC West teams:

Sept. 14: San Diego Chargers at Oakland Raiders

Oct. 11: Dallas Cowboys at Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans)

Oct. 11: New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) at Denver Broncos

Oct. 19 Denver Broncos at San Diego Chargers

Oct. 25: San Diego Chargers at Kansas City Chiefs

Oct. 25: New York Jets (Titans of New York) at Oakland Raiders

Nov. 15: Kansas City Chiefs at Oakland Raiders

Nov. 26: Oakland Raiders at Dallas Cowboys