Chiefs honor Charles, Berry

The Kansas City Chiefs named running back Jamaal Charles the winner of their Derrick Thomas award and named safety Eric Berry as the winner of their Mack Lee award. The Thomas award goes to the team MVP and the Lee award goes to the rookie of the year. Both honors were decided by Kansas City players.

Charles is the fourth player in team history to win the Derrick Thomas award in back-to-back seasons. He was second in the NFL with 1,467 rushing yards last season and was a Pro Bowl player. Berry, who also made the Pro Bowl, had a terrific rookie season after being the No. 5 overall pick in the draft.

In other AFC West news Thursday afternoon:

The Football OutsidersInsider tackle one key offseason issue for each AFC West team in an ESPN.com Insider piece.

Steve Wyche at NFL.com thinks that the Chargers will be back in the playoffs in 2011 and the Chiefs will fall out of the postseason party.

The Kansas City Star has a look at the Chiefs’ new offensive coaching alignment.