AFC West well represented on HOF final list

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its 17 finalists for enshrinement in 2010. The vote will be in February. Four people who spent a significant part of their career in the AFC West are among the finalists.

Here are the new finalists:

Tim Brown, WR: 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

Will he get in? Brown should be a first-ballot shoo-in.

Don Coryell, coach: 1978-86 San Diego Chargers

Will he get in? The passing-game genius will have a lot of support. He’s the only coach in the final round.

Shannon Sharpe, TE: 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? The voting committee needs to correct its mistake from last year and get this guy into Canton.

Notable: Former Denver running back Floyd Little is a senior committee finalist. Denver’s Terrell Davis and Oakland’s Cliff Branch, Ray Guy and Lester Hayes were all among the 25 semifinalists named in November, yet they did not make the cut to the final round. The new inductees will be named next month.