Broncos' Ring of Famer Tom Jackson to be honored at Hall of Fame

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. -- Denver Broncos Ring of Fame member Tom Jackson, a player many of the team's faithful believe deserves consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame because of his playing career, is set to be honored in Canton, Ohio, this summer.

Jackson, an analyst for ESPN, was formally named Tuesday as the recipient of the 2015 Pete Rozelle Radio-Television award for his work as a broadcaster. The award is presented annually by the Hall of Fame for "longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football."

Jackson will be honored Aug. 8, during the enshrinement ceremony for the Hall of Fame's Class of 2015. Jackson played 14 seasons at linebacker for the Broncos, was a member of the team's "Orange Crush" defense and was named to the team's Ring of Fame in 1992.

Jackson has worked at ESPN since 1987 and was awarded a Sports Emmy in 2009 as "Outstanding Studio Analyst." He has appeared on ESPN's Sunday NFL Countdown for more than 25 years, alongside Chris Berman -- Berman won the Rozelle Radio-Television award in 2010.

"Playing in the National Football League was a dream come true, but never did it occur to me that I'd have a second career so gratifying and an award like this bestowed upon me,” Jackson said. "I admire and deeply respect the former recipients of the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award. I'm so honored to join this club. And to all those who have contributed to my success as a broadcaster, I humbly and sincerely say thank you."

The Broncos are decidedly under-represented in the Hall of Fame for a franchise that has been to seven Super Bowls, winning two. No member of the team's Orange Crush defense has been enshrined.

Randy Gradishar has been a finalist for the Hall of Fame, but is now in the seniors category. Karl Mecklenburg and Steve Atwater have made the cut to 25 for enshrinement and Jackson has received support from many former players as a potential Hall of Famer.

Jackson will be part of ESPN's coverage for this year's enshrinement ceremony.