Breaking down HOF semifinalists

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its 26 semifinalists for enshrinement in 2012. The list of 26 will be pared to 17 finalists in January and the enshrinement vote will be held in February.

Let’s take a look at the eight candidates among the 26 who spent significant portions of their careers in the AFC West. Here they are:

Steve Atwater, S, -- 1989-98 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? I don’t think Atwater will be in enshrined this year.

Tim Brown, WR -- 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

Will he get in? Brown will get in, but it may take some more time because of the logjam at receiver, whether it’s right or not.

Don Coryell, coach -- 1978-86 San Diego Chargers

Will he get in? The late coach has his supporters, but his candidacy may be difficult.

Terrell Davis, RB -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos.

Will he get in? Davis’ short career remains his biggest challenge.

Karl Mecklenburg, LB -- 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? I’d call him a big long shot to make it in 2012.

Willie Roaf, T -- 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs

Will he get in? I would not be shocked if Roaf gets in in the next couple of years.

Will Shields, G -- 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Will he get in? Shields has a real chance of being elected in his first year on the ballot.

Ron Wolf, Contributor -- 1963-1974, 1978-1990 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Will he get in? Wolf had a long career and is best known for his days as the Packers’ general manager. I think he has a shot.