By the numbers: Big 12 coaching tenure

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin
One of the more interesting items to watch this season will be the Nebraska coaching staff. New coach Bo Pelini seems intent on rebuilding his staff to look like the one he left after his one-game stint as the Cornhuskers' coach in the 2003 Alamo Bowl.

Tight ends coach Ron Brown, offensive line coach Barney Cotton and secondary coach Marvin Sanders all coached with Pelini on Frank Solich's final Nebraska staff. None of them has coached at Nebraska since then. Pelini's older brother, Carl, now the Cornhuskers' defensive coordinator, was a graduate assistant on that 2003 Nebraska staff. He worked under Bo, who was the Cornhuskers' defensive coordinator.

Brown will return to coaching after spending the last four seasons as the Nebraska state director of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. His comeback will begin his 18th season on a Nebraska staff, a figure that ranks him third in coaching service at the school.

Here's a list of the coaches who have worked at their current schools for the most number of years:

And here's a list of coaches who will be making debuts at new schools this season.

Baylor: Phillip Montgomery, co-offensive coordinator/quarterbacks/running backs; Randy Clements, co-offensive coordinator/offensive line; Dino Babers, outside wide receivers; Kendal Briles, inside wide receivers; Brian Norwood, defensive coordinator/safeties; Theo Young, defensive ends; Chris Achuff, defensive tackles; Kim McCloud, cornerbacks.

Kansas: David Beaty, wide receivers; Jim Bob Clements, defensive line.

Kansas State: Warren Ruggiero, quarterbacks; Cornell Jackson, linebackers; Jeff Rodgers, special teams coordinator.

Nebraska: Tim Beck, running backs; John Papuchis, defensive ends; Mike Ekeler, linebackers

Oklahoma: Jay Norvell, co-offensive coordinator/wide receivers

Oklahoma State: Trooper Taylor, co-offensive coordinator/wide receivers; Glenn Spencer, defensive line; Jason Jones, secondary.

Texas: Will Muschamp, defensive coordinator/linebackers

Texas A&M: Nolan Cromwell, offensive coordinator/wide receivers; Tom Rossley, quarterbacks; Randy Jordan, running backs; Jim Turner, offensive line; Joe Kines, assistant head coach/defensive coordinator; Charles McMillian, co-defensive backs.

Texas Tech: Dennis Simmons, wide receivers; Matt Moore, offensive line; Clay McGuire
, special teams.