Maxwell awards to be presented Friday

Former Texas quarterback Colt McCoy and former Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh will be honored Friday during the formal presentations of the Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik awards at the Maxwell Football Club’s 73rd National Awards Dinner at Harrah’s Atlantic City Resort.

McCoy won the Maxwell Award, given to the collegiate Player of the Year, and Suh was named as the recipient of the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the top defensive player in college football.

Other honorees on Friday night will include Super Bowl MVP Drew Brees, who won the Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year award, and New Orleans Saints coach Sean Payton, who won the NFL coaching award from the Maxwell Football Club. U.S. Army All-American Sharrif Floyd, a Florida-bound defensive tackle from Philadelphia, will be honored as the national high school player of the year.