Six from Big 12 on Thorpe Award list

The Thorpe Award, given annually to college football's best defensive back, has released its watch list, and six players from the Big 12 have earned consideration for the award entering the 2010 season.

  • Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska

  • Curtis Brown, CB, Texas

  • Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma

  • Blake Gideon, S, Texas

  • Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado

  • Aaron Williams, CB, Texas

Both Amukamara and Williams should be two of the favorites to win the award from the 35-man watch list. There's lots of talent at the top in the secondary across the Big 12; four of the six players on the watch list made our list of the Big 12's top 25 players from earlier this spring, and Oklahoma's Quinton Carter was one of the top players who just missed.

Aaron Ross of Texas in 2006 was the last Big 12 player to win the award, but from 2000-06, the Big 12 took home the award in five of six years.

Tennessee's Eric Berry won the award last year, and Texas' Earl Thomas was a finalist.

You can view the full list of watch listers here.