The Big 12 and the Super Bowl: 2000 to the present

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

The Big 12's role in the Super Bowl has been remembered all week as I've taken a detailed look at the conference's alumni on all previous Super Bowl teams.

Unlike several recent teams, the Big 12's influence is relatively minor on both remaining teams in Sunday's game in Tampa.

Arizona has two Big 12 starters in center Lyle Sendlein from Texas and defensive end Antonio Smith from Kansas State. Reserve linebacker Monty Beisel is a special-teams player for the Cardinals and former Nebraska cornerback Ralph Brown provides situational duty as an extra defensive back in some pass situations.

Pittsburgh is strong up the middle with the Steelers' offensive line anchored by former Kansas center Justin Hartwig. And Casey Hampton of Texas starts at nose tackle. Colorado's Mitch Berger is the Steelers' punter and Texas' Limas Sweed has earned more notoriety for his blocking than his receiving earlier in the playoffs for Pittsburgh.

Here's a list of those teams and players in the most recent decade, leading up to Sunday's game in Tampa.

Baltimore Ravens -- DT Sam Adams (Texas A&M), FB Priest Holmes (Texas), T Sammy Williams (Oklahoma).

New York Giants -- DB Ralph Brown (Nebraska), TE Dan Campbell (Texas A&M), LB Jack Golden (Oklahoma State), DE Cedric Jones (Oklahoma), DT Christian Peter (Nebraska).

New England Patriots -- WR Curtis Jackson (Texas), WR Charles Johnson (Colorado), LB Ted Johnson (Colorado), DB Ben Kelly (Colorado), DT Brandon Mitchell (Texas A&M), CB Otis Smith.

St. Louis Rams -- DB Jerametrius Butler (Kansas State), DB Rich Coady (Texas A&M), LB Don Davis (Kansas), T Rod Jones (Kansas), DB Jacoby Shepherd (Oklahoma State), G Cameron Spikes (Texas A&M), DE Grant Wistrom (Nebraska).

Tampa Bay Buccaneers -- LB Jack Golden (Oklahoma State), K Martin Gramatica (Kansas State), C Russ Hochstein (Nebraska), DB Corey Ivy (Oklahoma), DE Ron Warner (Kansas).

Oakland Raiders -- DT Sam Adams (Texas A&M), DB Brandon Jennings (Texas A&M), DB Eric Johnson (Nebraska), LB Mike Jones (Missouri), P Shane Lechler (Texas A&M), DT John Parella (Nebraska), LB Travian Smith (Oklahoma), C Adam Treu (Nebraska).

New England Patriots -- T Tom Ashworth (Colorado), LB Don Davis (Kansas), TE Christian Fauria (Colorado), TE Daniel Graham (Colorado), G Ross Hochstein (Nebraska), WR Bethel Johnson (Texas A&M), LB Ted Johnson (Colorado), DE Rick Lyle (Missouri), TE Sean McDermott (Kansas), DE Ty Warren (Texas A&M).

Carolina Panthers -- DB Jarrod Cooper (Kansas State), S Mike Minter (Nebraska), DE Mike Rucker (Nebraska).

New England Patriots -- T Tom Ashworth (Colorado), LB Don Davis (Kansas), TE Christian Fauria (Colorado), TE Daniel Graham (Colorado), C Russ Hochstein (Nebraska), WR Bethel Johnson (Texas A&M), LB Ted Johnson (Colorado) S, DT Ethan Kelley (Baylor), DE Ty Warren (Texas A&M).

Philadelphia Eagles -- QB Koy Detmer (Colorado), S Michael Lewis (Colorado), LB Mark Simoneau (Kansas State).

Pittsburgh Steelers -- T Barrett Brooks (Kansas State), NT Casey Hampton (Texas), WR Quincy Morgan (Kansas State).

Seattle Seahawks -- DT Rocky Bernard (Texas A&M), K Josh Brown (Nebraska), WR D.J. Hackett (Colorado), DB Michael Harden (Missouri), LB D.D. Lewis (Texas), P Tom Rouen (Colorado), RB Josh Scobey (Kansas State), DT Marcus Tubbs (Texas), QB Seneca Wallace (Iowa State), DE Grant Wistrom (Nebraska).

Indianapolis Colts -- G Dylan Gandy (Texas Tech), K Martin Gramatica (Kansas State), T Charlie Johnson (Oklahoma State), G Ryan Lilja (Kansas State), DT Montae Reagor (Texas Tech),TE Justin Snow (Baylor).

Chicago Bears -- RB Cedric Benson (Texas), WR Mark Bradley (Oklahoma), S Mike Brown (Nebraska), WR Justin Gage (Missouri), DT Tommie Harris (Oklahoma), T Fred Miller (Baylor), RB J.D. Runnels (Oklahoma), DB Derrick Strait (Oklahoma), CB Nathan Vasher (Texas).

New York Giants -- DB R.W. McQuarters (Oklahoma State), CB Aaron Ross (Texas).

New England Patriots -- DB Willie Andrews (Baylor), LB Chad Brown (Colorado), CB Ellis Hobbs (Iowa State), C Russ Hochstein (Nebraska), RB Sammy Morris (Texas Tech), TE Marcellus Rivers (Oklahoma State), DT LeKevin Smith (Nebraska), TE David Thomas (Texas), DE Ty Warren (Texas A&M), WR Wes Welker (Texas Tech), G Billy Yates (Texas A&M).

Arizona Cardinals -- LB Monty Beisel (Kansas State), DB Ralph Brown (Nebraska), C Lyle Sendlein (Texas), DE Antonio Smith (Oklahoma State).

Pittsburgh Steelers -- P Mitch Berger (Colorado), NT Casey Hampton (Texas), C Justin Hartwig (Kansas), WR Limas Sweed (Texas).

Note: Starters are in bold.