Three from Big 12 on Groza watch list

Another day, another college football watch list.

Today: The Lou Groza Award, presented annually to college football's best kicker.

Three from the Big 12 made the list:

  • Alex Henery, Nebraska

  • Grant Ressel, Missouri

  • Jimmy Stevens, Oklahoma

UCLA's Kai Forbath is the unquestioned favorite after winning the award in 2009, but Henery and Ressel are near the top of the list as Forbath's peers. Both Henery (24-of-28) and Ressel (26-of-27) had fantastic years in 2009 and should be contenders for the award.

Stevens, who made the most field goals of any high school kicker ever, struggled as a sophomore, missing his only two attempts beyond 40 yards and a pair of extra points in wins over Texas A&M and Idaho State. He was benched before Oklahoma's win over Kansas and is competing with walk-on Patrick O'Hara for the starting job in camp.