Four from Big 12 on Rimington list

Four players from the Big 12 landed on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, given annually to college football's best center.

  • Tim Barnes, Missouri

  • Mike Caputo, Nebraska

  • Keenan Stevens, Colorado

  • Wade Weibert, Kansas State

The obvious thing that jumps off this list is all four guys hail from the North. That's a good sign for running backs like Rodney Stewart, Roy Helu Jr. and Daniel Thomas.

The Rimington Trophy was named for Nebraska's Dave Rimington, who played from 1979-82.

Since Nebraska's Dominic Raiola won the inaugural award in 2000, no Big 12 player has duplicated the feat.