Five Big 12 players named to first Rimington watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

Five Big 12 offensive linemen have been named to the initial watch list created for the Rimington Trophy.

Among the nominees include Missouri junior Tim Barnes, Texas senior Chris Hall, Nebraska senior Jacob Hickman, Texas A&M senior Kevin Matthews and Baylor senior J.D. Walton.

Hall and Walton made the watch list last season, which is sponsored by the Boomer Esiason Foundation to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis and given to the most outstanding center in college football. Last year's winner was A.Q. Shipley of Penn State.

A couple of the Big 12's inclusions were a little surprising. Hickman moved to right guard in spring practice to enable Mike Caputo to work his way into the lineup. And Matthews was among three starting Texas A&M offensive linemen who missed spring practice recovering from injuries.

The Big 12 has had one Rimington winner since presentation of the award began in 2000. Dominic Raiola of Nebraska won the first Rimington in 2000.