Six Big 12 QBs on Davey O'Brien watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 has developed the reputation as the best conference in the nation for producing top quarterbacks in recent seasons.

That trend continued today when six Big 12 quarterbacks were named to the initial watch list for the Fort Worth-based Davey O'Brien Award.

It wasn't much of a surprise that the Big 12's top two quarterbacks -- returning Heisman finalists Colt McCoy of Texas and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford made the list. Bradford is the returning Davey O'Brien winner from last season.

Other Big 12 quarterbacks who made the list include Oklahoma State's Zac Robinson, Kansas' Todd Reesing and Baylor's Robert Griffin.

The other Big 12 choice raised a few eyebrows. Texas Tech quarterback Taylor Potts was selected despite the fact he has thrown only 85 passes and never started a college game before. Members of the O'Brien's selection committee obviously feel comfortable that Potts will follow in the long line of quarterbacks for Tech coach Mike Leach who produce monster numbers once they get a chance to play.

The O'Brien Award has been presented to six previous Big 12 players since the conference began play in 1996. Big 12 winners included Kansas State's Michael Bishop in 1998, Nebraska's Eric Crouch in 2001, Oklahoma's Jason White in 2003 and 2004, Texas' Vince Youung in 2005 and Bradford last season.

Bradford will be looking to become the fourth back-to-back O'Brien Award winner. Others who have won the award in consecutive seasons were BYU's Ty Detmer in 1990-91, Florida's Danny Wuerffel in 1995-96 and White.

No other conference had more than four nominees on the watch list among the 33 players who were named.

This year's winner will be announced Dec. 10 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.