Big 12 candidates for the FBS Hall of Fame

The National Football Foundation has released its list of candidates for the FBS Hall of Fame class of 2011.

More than 12,000 members of the foundation will vote on the list of 79 players and nine coaches, and the class will be announced in May with an induction ceremony to take place in December.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.79 million people have played college football," NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell said in a release. "The Hall's requirement of being a first team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,900 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's group of 79 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today."

So, here's who's up for induction from schools currently in the Big 12:

  • Brian Bosworth, LB, Oklahoma, 1984-86

  • Bobby Douglass, QB, Kansas, 1966-68

  • Doug English, DT, Texas, 1972-74

  • Tony Franklin, K, Texas A&M,1975-78

  • Jerry Gray, DB, Texas,1981-84

  • Rod Shoate, LB, Oklahoma,1972-74

  • Don Trull, QB, Baylor, 1961-63

  • R.C. Slocum, coach, Texas A&M, 1989-2002 (first time on ballot)

Want more? Here's the full list.