Six from Big 12 on Thorpe Award watch list

The Thorpe Award, given annually to college football's top defensive back, has released its preseason watch list.

Six from the Big 12 cracked the 37-man list:

  • Jamell Fleming, CB, Oklahoma

  • Blake Gideon, S, Texas

  • Tony Jefferson, S, Oklahoma

  • Leonard Johnson, CB, Iowa State

  • Coryell Judie, CB, Texas A&M

  • Markelle Martin, S, Oklahoma State

Texas won consecutive Thorpe award in 2005 and 2006, but no Big 12 player has taken home the award since.

Aaron Ross' win in 2006 capped a string of five winners from the Big 12 in six years, beginning with Roy Williams of Oklahoma and Kansas State's Terence Newman in 2000 and 2001.