Big 12 puts three on Rimington watch list

The Rimington Award watch list has been released and three Big 12 players made the three-man list. The award is given annually to college football's best center.

  • Philip Blake, Baylor

  • Grant Garner, Oklahoma State

  • Jeremiah Hatch, Kansas

¿Dónde está Ben Habern? Outside of the missing Sooner, it's a pretty good list. When I made my All-Big 12 preseason team, it became pretty clear that center is a weak position for the Big 12 this year, but I went with Garner. I was still surprised Habern was left off the 43-man list. Don't be surprised if he earns the nod from the media as the All-Big 12 center in the preseason.

The SEC led all conferences with seven players on the list.

Nebraska's Dominic Raola won the inaugural award in 2000, but no Big 12 team has ever had a Rimington Award winner.

Additionally, no school has ever had multiple winners.