Big 12 lands seven on Camp watch list

The Walter Camp Award, given annually to college football's best player, has released its preseason watch list, and seven Big 12 players made the cut:

The 40-man list, which names preseason candidates for the fourth-oldest college football award, will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in November.

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy won the award in 2008 and 2009, tying Texas with Oklahoma for the Big 12's most Camp Award winners, with three.

USC's six are the most all-time. Auburn's Cam Newton became the Tigers' third winner last year.

Oklahoma quarterback-turned-offensive coordinator Josh Heupel won the award in 2000. He was the last Sooner to win.